Borrower, Lender – Version #Two

by Sparks In Shadow

Photo by Ré Harris

 

I’ve found that when a story is true, it’s sometimes trickier to get the feel right when I condense it down to one hundred words. I’m curious to know if this one feels like the exact same story as Version #One, or if it seems a little different to you. However you see it, thanks for reading.

 

Three weeks after being hired at the deli, I asked coworkers to loan me a few dollars for groceries. My paycheck hadn’t come again.

Once it did, Sheila was strange when I returned her money. Gene and Randy seemed dumbfounded when I repaid them.

In the breakroom, Paul expressed shock.

“I don’t understand,” I said.

“We weren’t sure you’d pay us back.” He studied the money in my hand with a surprised smile.

“I wouldn’t …”

“We didn’t know.” He shrugged. “I thought it was gone, so you keep it. Or pass it on.”

I felt good, yet embarrassed, somehow together.

